Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.internal_encoding is deprecated in /home/workland/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 28

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.input_encoding is deprecated in /home/workland/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 29

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.output_encoding is deprecated in /home/workland/public_html/libraries/joomla/string/string.php on line 30
RB SANTOS chosen as a 2012 ASPEN Environment Forum Scholar!
HomeNEWS AND EVENTSRB SANTOS chosen as a 2012 ASPEN Environment Forum Scholar!

RB SANTOS chosen as a 2012 ASPEN Environment Forum Scholar!

June 22-25, 2012 ASPEN, CO



Workland Executive Director Romeo Santos was chosen as an ASPEN Environment Forum Scholar in 2012 by the National Geographic and the Aspen Institute. He joined a high impact roster of participants and speakers from governments, top scientists’ circle, academia, and the corporate sector that graced the environment confab in the ASPEN Institute Campus at Aspen, Colorado last June 22-25, 2012.




 2012 Aspen  Environment Forum: How to Get People to Change the World


Moderator: Frank Sesno

Director, Media and Public Affairs, George Washington University
Veteran CNN newsman and Former CNN Vice President Frank Sesno

now heads the School of Media and Public Affairs at George

Washington University. At GW he is creator of Planet Forward,

a user-driven website and public television program focusing on issues

of energy, climate, and sustainability.


   The 5th Annual Aspen Environment Forum explored “solutions for meeting the challenges posed by the changing conditions of the planet. It convened experts, thought-leaders, and citizens for a lively discussion and debate about how the planet and its people must adapt to this new environmental paradigm.” 


2012 Aspen Environment Forum Scholars:

Jean-Christophe Amado, Climate Change Risk Manager, Acclimatise North America (Canada)

Lawrence Berliner, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Denver

Eva Čermáková, Assistant Executive Director, Zdeněk Bakala’s Global Non-Profit Programs (Czech Republic)

Whitney Clark, Executive Dirtector, Friends of the Mississippi River

Greg Costello, Executive Director, Western Environmental Law Center

Catherine Craig, President, Conservation through Poverty Alleviation International

Chester Culver, President, Chet Culver Group, former Governor of Iowa

Jennifer Curtin, Attorney, Booz Allen Hamilton

Cait Dmitriew, Adjunct Professor/Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Colorado- Boulder

Luis Fernandez, Research Associate, Carnegie Institution for Science


John Fialka, Editor, ClimateWire, E&E Publishing, LLC

Stephanie Gripne, Director of the Initiative for Sustainable Development, University of Colorado

Marce Gutierrez, Founder, Executive Director, Azul

Jennifer Gooden, Director, Office of Sustainability, City of Oklahoma City

Joshua Humphreys, Fellow, Tellus Institute

Kate Knuth, Representative/Boreas Leadership Program Coordinator, State of  Minnesota/University of Minnesota

Daniel Lawse, Assistant Director of Campus Planning and Sustainability, Metropolitan     Community Collge

Allen Manser, Technology Investment Associate, Zouk Capital

Melissa Ocana, Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Fellow, Assistant to the Climate Change Policy Advisor, US Fish and Wildlife Service

Brian Palm, Director of Environmental Stewardship, Brooks School

Robert J. Phocas, Energy and Sustainability Manager, City of Charlotte

Sarah Finnie Robinson, Founding Partner, Head of Social Programming, Practically Green

Emily Rubenstein, Senior Policy Advisor, New York City Mayor’s Office of Long-Term  Planning and Sustainability

Hrishabh Sandilya, Vice-President, Anglo-American University

Romeo Santos, Executive Director, WorkLand M&E Institute, Inc. (Philippines)

Marco Seeman, Regulatory Affairs Analyst, Enel Green Power (Italy)

Paul Spencer, Founder and President, Clean Energy Collective

Kate Stephenson, Executive Director, Yestermorrow Design/Build School

Kristen Painemilla Walker, Vice President, Social Policy and Practice, Conservation International

Lin Wei, Director of External Affairs, China Securities Journal (China)

Cherilyn Widell, Principal Investigator, Department of Defense ESTCP Project

David Wright, Film Producer, Planet Earth Pictures


More information about the Aspen Environment Forum and a list of all confirmed speakers are available at




FacebookTwitterGoogle BookmarksLinkedin
Free business joomla templates